The president of the provincial court of La Rioja

Presidency of the provincial court entails serving as the representative of this important judicial instance whose presence is required at official autonomous and municipal acts. The president of the provincial court is appointed by the General Council of the Judiciary for a term of five years. In addition, the president presides over one of the sections that make up the provincial court.

The president of the Provincial Court of Logroño is Alfonso Santisteban, elected by the General Council of the Judiciary to this post on 2 July 2008.

Santiesteban was born in 1948 in Tarazona (Zaragoza). He earned a law degree from the Universidad de Zaragoza, entering the judicial profession in 1977. His first posting as a judge was the at-the-time district court of Nájera (La Rioja). In 1983, he was magistrate in charge of the 1st First Instance and Examining Court of Torrelavega (Cantabria). Three years later, he was assigned to the 2nd Examining Court of Baracaldo (Vizcaya). His next assignment was the Provincial Court of Lleida, where he remained until 1989, when he was posted to the Provincial Court of La Rioja.